+44 (0)7511791010 WC1 London, UK

The Chakra system

The Chakra system

The physical body is more than merely bones, muscles, and organs encased in skin. Instead, it includes layers of energy fields that surround the physical body. These interconnected invisible-to-the-eyes layers create the body’s electromagnetic field, also known as its aura. This is what’s known as the subtle body, also referred to as the "light body," "etheric body," or "spiritual body."

The life force energy (otherwise known as "Chi', "Prana", 'Ki") travels through the subtle body in a series of channels, called "nadis." These nadis intersect at points of intensified energy, called "chakras." A Sanskrit word for "wheel," chakras are spinning vortexes of energy in the subtle body that correspond to various glands along the spine and inside the skull. According to yoga philosophy, the human body has seven major chakras.

When the nadis get blocked because of poor habits and old patterns, the chakras stagnate. This causes the life force to become sluggish, which can lead to depleted physical, mental, and emotional health. Practicing chakra balancing practices purifies and revitalizes the nadis and chakras, and allows prana to once again flow freely.

Each chakra governs specific behaviors and values in our lives, such as material security, communication, and love. They also regulate various bodily systems, like the skeletal system. Every chakra also corresponds to an element, to a "mantra" (a "repeated syllable"), and to a specific color along the rainbow spectrum.

The most direct way to use the chakras is to learn how each one is associated with an element in nature. The first five chakras are associated with the physical elements earth, water, fire, air, and ether (or space). The last two chakras are thought to connect us beyond the earthly realm, so they are associated with the elements of light and cosmic energy.

Once you learn the element that each chakra is associated with, you can start to suss out how that element feels in your body. And thinking about your body in these symbolic terms can help you access new stores of energy. For example, the root chakra is associated with earth. When it's in balance, we feel strong and grounded; when it's out of balance, we may feel unrooted and insecure. Or take the pelvic chakra, which is associated with water. When it's in balance, we feel fluid and like our creative juices are flowing. When it's not, we might feel rigid, dry, or emotionally brittle, like a plant that hasn't been watered enough.The effects of a chakra-based practice can have a tangible, empowering ripple effect on your life.

Because your body wants to achieve energetic balance in your chakras, moving too far in either direction (underactive or overactive) in any one chakra can actually yield negative effects in your body and be counterproductive to the energy body and chakra healing process. An underactive chakra kicks another chakra into overdrive, which in turn pulls extra energy away from that part of the body

Together with Reiki, Breathwork, Meditation and Chakra balancing affirmations, MoveMent into chakra postures is one of the most basic ways to balance each chakra because they create alignment in the physical body and rebalance your subtle body. This realigns the chakras, which regulate specific behaviors, and makes it easier to overcome outdated patterns, beliefs, and habits.

Below is a list of the major chakras and their basic properties.

  • 1

    Root Chakra - Muladhara

    Location: base of the spine

    Color: red

    Mantra: Lam

    Basic issues: survival, vitality, stability, security

    If balanced you feel: security, humility, grounded, stable, energetic, optimal weight, healthy eating, proper elimination

    If unbalanced you feel: insecure, fear, anxiety, unstable, low self-esteem, anemia, over/under weight, constipation

  • 2

    Sacral Chakra - Svadhishthana

    Location: between genital and navel

    Color: orange

    Mantra: Vam

    Basic issues: creativity, sexuality, reproduction, pleasure

    If balanced you feel: creativity, joy, sexuality, healthy sex life, prosperity, patience, fertility, pleasure

    If unbalanced you feel: guilty, shyness, irresponsible, infertility, sexual issues, allergy, eating disorder

  • 3

    Navel Chakra - Manipura

    Location: between navel and solar plexus

    Color: yellow

    Mantra: Ram

    Basic issues: power, self-esteem, strength

    If balanced you feel: energy, strength, confidence, strong will, mental balance, healthy, active

    If unbalanced you feel: guilty, lack of energy, weakness, allergy, fatigue, low self-esteem, worthlessness, digestion and liver problems

  • 4

    Heart Chakra - Anahata

    Location: center of the chest

    Color: green

    Mantra: Yam

    Basic issues: love, acceptance, compassion

    If balanced you feel: loving, empathetic, open hearted, serenity, emotionally balanced, trustfulness, tolerance

    In unbalanced you feel: lonliness, demanding, critical, jealous, cold-hearted, narcissistic, lung and heart problems, asthma, allergies

  • 5

    Throat Chakra - Vishuddha

    Location: throat

    Color: blue

    Mantra: Ham

    Basic issue: communication, self-expression

    If balanced you feel: peaceful, truthful, listening, good communication, strong self-expression, peaceful

    If unbalanced you feel: shy, weak voice, fear of speaking, unable to listen, lying, arrogance, thyroid, hearing, throat problems

  • 6

    Third eye Chakra - Ajna

    Location: between brows

    Color: Indigo

    Mantra: Om

    Basic issues: intuition, vision, preception

    If balanced you feel: intuitive, guided, perceptive, clairvoyance, bright dreams, spiritual, mental strength, good vision

    If unbalanced you feel: lack of intuition and imagination, manipulative, panic, fear, nightmares, vision and eyes problems, migraines

  • 7

    Crown Chakra - Sahasrara

    Location: top of the head

    Color: violet, white

    Mantra: silence, Om

    Basic issues: knowing, connection to spirit and Universe

    If balanced you feel: spiritual, blessed, unity, wisdom, open minded, peaceful, connected to Universe, strong nervous system

    If unbalanced you feel: mental disorders, fear, materialistic, memory and learning problems, apathy, broken, spiritual crisis

View All Items